TO THE 100th ANNIVERSARY OF THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES OF UKRAINE

This year the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine celebrates the 100th anniversary of its foundation. It was November 27, 1918, when the Ukrainian Academy of Sciences in Kyiv (UAS) was founded on the basis of a law passed by the Council of Ministers of the Ukrainian State on November 14, 1918, and approved by P. Skoropadsky – the Hetman of Ukraine. At the same time the statute was approved according to which the UAS was defined as "the highest scientific state institution in Ukraine, which is in direct control of the supreme authority". The Academy arose as a self-governing institution, consisting of 15 institutes, 14 permanent commissions, 6 museums, 2 offices, 2 laboratories, the Botanical and Acclimatization Gardens, the Astronomical Observatory, the Biological Station, the Library, the Printing House and the Archives. According to the statute the Academy should have three sections: history and philology, physics and mathematics and social sciences. The first joint assembly of the Academy, held on November 27 at the premises of the Scientific Society in Kyiv, elected V. I. Vernadsky as the President of the UAS. A. Yu. Krymsky was elected as an indispensable secretary of the Academy. On the same day there were assemblies of the Physics and Mathematics Section, chaired by M. F. Kashchenko and the Section of Social Sciences, with a chairman M. I. Tugan-Baranovsky. Soon the first meeting of the Historical-Philological Section took place, at which D. I. Bahaliv was elected as a chairman.

The foundation of the Ukrainian Academy of Sciences, of course, has become an exceptionally important event in the history of Ukrainian science. Throughout its century-old existence, it cultivated Ukrainian science, gathered the best scholars, educated the younger generation, keeping up with the times and creating history with important discoveries and tireless daily work.

Today's National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine has three sections: Physical-Technical and Mathematical Sciences; Chemical and Biological Sciences; Social Sciences and Humanities – consisting of 14 departments: Mathematics; Computer Science; Mechanics; Physics and Astronomy; Earth Sciences; Physical and Technical Problems of Materials Science; Physical and Technical Problems of Power Engineering; Nuclear Physics and Power Engineering; Chemistry; Biochemistry, Physiology and Molecular Biology; General Biology; Economics; History, Philosophy and Law; Literature, Language and Art Studies. The basic structural units of the Academy are research institutes, as well as observatories, botanical gardens, arboretums, reserves, libraries, museums, etc. In total, the Academy has 160 scientific institutions and 36 research and production organizations.

Consolidating the scientific potential of the country under the auspices of the Academy of Sciences, there are five Regional Science Centres under dual subordination of the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine: Donetsk SC; Western SC; Southern SC; North-East SC; Dnipro SC as well as the Center for the Evaluation of Scientific Institutions and the Development of the Regions. The Western Scientific Center of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine and the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine with the center in Lviv unites the scientists of the eight western regions: Volyn, Ivano-Frankivsk, Transcarpathian, Lviv, Rivne, Ternopil, Chernivtsi and Khmelnytsky. There are 22 institutes of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, three state-owned enterprises, more than 80 higher education institutions, more than 50 branch research organizations, employing more than 26 thousand scientific and scientific-pedagogical workers, including more than 2500 Doctors of sciences and 14000 Candidates of Sciences. The institutions of the Western Scientific Center of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine today employ about 2300 employees, including more than 1200 scientists, 12 Academicians and 26 Corresponding Members of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, which multiply the achievements of the Academy.

Remembering the glorious history and looking into the future with optimism, we firmly believe in the further development of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine and the strengthening of its potential among the world's leading scientific organizations and institutions.

R. A. Vorobel

THE Vth SCIENTIFIC CONFERENCE "COMPUTATIONAL METHODS AND INFORMATION TRANSFORMATION SYSTEMS-2018" IN HONOR OF PROF. BOHDAN POPOV

The Vth Scientific and Technical Conference "Computational Methods and Information Transformation Systems" in honor of Prof. Bohdan Popov was organized by H. V. Karpenko Physico-Mechanical Institute of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (NASU) together with Ya. S. Pidstryhach Institute for Applied Problems of Mechanics and Mathematics of the NASU and the Centre of Mathematical Modelling of IAPMM NASU, Shevchenko Scientific Society, Section of Informatics of the Western Scientific Center of NASU and the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine in Lviv on October 4–5, 2018.



Conference participants.

Bohdan Popov was born on October 8, 1940 in Perm (Russia). He graduated from the Faculty of Mechanics and Mathematics of the Lviv State University in 1963. Since 1965 he was working in the H. V. Karpenko Physico-Mechanical Institute of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine. In 1970, he defended his Candidate thesis in

ISSN 0474-8662. Відбір і обробка інформ. 2018. Вип. 46 (122)